Post By Kostas for Heavy Metal OTD Network :: 14 September 2018


1. The Last Light
2. Cold Embrace
3. My Empty Grave
4. Eye of the Storm
5. Path to Eternity
6. All the Same
7. Isolation


OMEGA POINT is the studio project of YouTube Guitarist RISTRIDI. With OMEGA POINT, RISTRIDI invites musicians from different genres to join him in creating a new and versatile listening experience.

In the process of producing the project’s first album “The Descent”, he has gathered musicians from local Metal and Rock Bands like Battlecreek , Sektor , Sadistic Sacrament and Counterclockwise , resulting in stylistic diversity ranging from Progressive to Melodic Black Metal and Thrash Metal.

The lyrics, written by various artists participating in the project, share a certain morbid nature but don’t tell an elaborate story. Emerging from an emotional crisis, the dark themes of this album represent profound struggles with life that needed to be expressed.

The project’s second album “Isolation” could be described as a Progressive Metal concept album only moderately influenced by Melodic Black Metal. It conveys a rather awakening but also destructive feeling capturing the mourning process following personal loss.

Especially the lyrics written and devised by Maximilian Birkl this time fall into place to form a progressing storyline asking us to accompany a mourning protagonist after the loss of his best friend. Confronted with death, he is unable to cope with the grief, anger and pain leading into depression and finally complete isolation.

Having programmed the drums on the first album himself, RISTRIDI decided to reach out to American drummer Chris Dovas this time. Chris is known for his work in the Symphonic Metal Band Seven Spires . With real drums, Chris adds a completely new dynamic to the music making for an aggressive and energetic listening experience.

The phrasing and vocal melodies were worked out in collaboration with Maximilian Birkl and Jonathan Rittirsch of Counterclockwise .

Jonathan, who already sang two of the songs on the first album now sings on every song. With his powerful voice and his melodic, lively interpretation of the words he noticeably changed the style of the album. The polyphonic choruses and choirs in multiple songs have a striking effect on the songs’ atmospheres and give the album its unique character.


Michael Wöß, who is also known as RISTRIDI, is a 23-year-old metal guitarist and audio engineer from Munich, Germany. In 2009, Michael uploaded his first cover-video to YouTube. Knowing that he wanted to pursue a career in music, he focused on building his YouTube channel; it has now grown to feature over 250 uploaded videos, 10000 subscribers and 1.7 million views.

With his first band projects called ReBorn and Zenithal Drought , he gained first experiences with live appearances and studio recordings. After those projects broke up, he joined the Blackened Death Metal Band Sektor . The band has released two albums thus far, both of which feature Michael contributing highly technical lead guitar work. After a long period of inactivity with his own composition, Michael returned to writing music after facing a personal crisis in early 2017.

Thus, the project OMEGA POINT was born. By deciding to produce the first album “The Descent” all on his own, he gained a lot of experience in recording, mixing and mastering. The second album “Isolation” expands the musical variety of the first album – with a higher focus on melodic elements and an even more unique sound.

Chris Dovas is a young Boston based studio and touring drummer that is competent in a vast range of musical genres and styles. Being influenced by many genres of music has made him a very technical and emotional player. Chris has enough energy to power various audiences as his playing is ignited by his soulful touch of the instrument, his passion, and performance.

Armed with the drum kit, Chris goes through his performances with a constant passion and emotion that allows him to create close bonds with a developing fan base that is spreading across the world. Chris drives the audiences to a sweat-crazed experience where both, the audience and Chris himself, can feel at home.

Maximilian and Jonathan have a long history together, so they came to the conclusion that it‘s better to split up the job and do what each of them can do best: Maximilian writing the lyrics, Jonathan singing the songs. Maximilian is a bassist and metal songwriter drawing most of his inspiration from Haken , Justin Bonitz , The Ocean and a lot of nerdy stuff. Usually he feels more at home writing epic lyrics and concepts but for “Isolation”, he achieved to imitate real emotions.

Working often as the lead guitarist and songwriter of his own past projects Counterclockwise and Second Choice , Jonathan eventually decided to join Michael as the singer on the albums of the project OMEGA POINT. Being more into less conservative Metal genres than Black and Death, he wanted to come up with some fresh ideas which, as you can hear, had a big impact on the album and changed the sound of OMEGA POINT distinctly compared to the first album.


The Descent (Full Length - January 2018)
Isolation (Full Length - September 2018)


Michael Wöß - Guitars, Bass, Recording, Mixing, Mastering / Jonathan RIttirsch - Vocals / Maxi Birkl - Lyrics, Voice-Over / Chris Dovas - Drums
Media & Social Links
Connect with the Band